Sun, Friends and Recipies!

August 6, 2008

Yay for Sun firstly!  I woke up to yummy blue skies this morning and a huge smile started to go over my face…Like many of you I am just so over this winter and all this rain!

This morning David and I headed out first thing to Manukau and then the bus home and then David had a play and while I made cheese scones to take to Theresa’s for lunch for David’s play date with Grace…OMG it was so amazing to see these 2 play together!  David is about 3 weeks younger than Grace.  Theresa said they went past our place and Grace pointed at our house and said where’s my david!  Awww…Wow this little girl has the vocab of a 4 year old at least and I just had the most amazing little conversations with her today and she kept taking my hand and taking me around the house to show me stuff.  Theresa and I kept looking at each other and going awwww they are so cute!  It will be great as now that Theresa is a SAHM we will all see each other more and we can both see these 2 growing up so well together!  They will be going to the same school and the great thing is that the school bus stops outside our place….Theresa and her family have a wonderful place and the kids just enjoyed playing out in the play house, slide, sand pit the grass – it was great!  I have actually come home with that sun kissed feel if that makes sense when your checks feel sun kissed…We are going to make this a more regular thing when David isn’t at Daycare and I will be there helping out as well when the boys arrive!  I got a big surprise this arvo as well as Theresa mentioned the 240 hours help that they get and she is going to have a chat to her husband and see how it works and as they would prefer to have someone they know and as I am going to be helping out anyway they are going to see if they can get me paid the 240 hours!  I was very touched but wanted to reassure her that i wasn’t hunting to be paid that I am only too happy to help out!  I have found a wonderful friend in Theresa – we first met over a year ago at Mainly Music.

Thanks to everyone for all your wonderful comments.

Okay now onto that Fish Pie recipie – at first it sounds strange but i will assure you that it is yummy!

Smoked Fish Pie

Serves 4
The family will love this old favourite, perfect for a warm winters night in…

 

Method

1. Heat a dash of oil in a frying pan, gently cook leeks until tender.

2. Mix together the Wattie’s Condensed Creamy Pumpkin Soup with the lite sour cream and milk, beating until smooth.

3. Stir in cooked leeks, parsley, lemon rind, smoked fish and eggs, season with pepper. Transfer to a 6 cup capacity ovenproof dish. Top with Wattie’s Potato Pom Poms.

4. Fan bake at 200ºC for 20 minutes or until the fish pie is hot and the Potato Pom Poms are crispy and golden.

Hint: If you do not have the fan bake option on your oven, cook at 220ºC for the same time.

I got this off the food in a minute website…I normally use a packet of Maggi Fish Pie mix which makes a great Fish Pie.  For this pie I actually used a tin of Smoked fish which worked well.

Our SLT meeting this morning was cancelled as the SLT was quite sick so re-scheduled until next week.

Well going to go and put oven on soon and get our Roast chicken in to cook – mmm yummy roast dinner!  I will use the leftovers in a Chicken Pie tomorrow night!

Big hugs to everyone especially Beverly and her family for their loss!

 

<!—

 

 

 

·                                  

 

Ingredients
1

6 Responses to “Sun, Friends and Recipies!”

  1. Hannah said

    Sounds like a fun playdate, even better when the sun is shining 🙂

    Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  2. Penny said

    neat playdates! how I miss those. 😦

    It is nice to have someone they know to help them out.

  3. Angela said

    That fish pie sounds interesting, might have to give it a go.

    Good to know that you have friends close by, and that she has you too, and that the children will grow up together!

  4. Janine said

    great to have friends so close by and even better that Grace and David can grow up together.

  5. Vicki said

    Always so cute when the littlies make friends and especially as they will be going to the same school.

  6. Trace said

    Cute about David and Grace. With you on the sun…

Leave a Reply

